Adrian Avendano
2 min readApr 18, 2021

We are wired to be Semi-Nomadic.

I want to write about some of the feelings I’m getting by traveling to a new city and country after being stuck in Tbilisi Georgia because of Covid!

I feel that my mind feels highly stimulated. I feel on a high, and the reason is that I’m creating new inputs. For example.

  1. New city, buildings, weather, language, human shapes, tastes, and food.
  2. Trying to speak the local language and figuring out and understanding new words and phrases.
  3. Meeting new people and learning about their background, experiences, culture, and new emotions that come with all these interactions.
  4. Finding connections between different cultures, people, economies, languages, and societies overall.
  5. Sharing all these new thoughts, experiences, insights, languages, and perspectives with people at the local level and with the people I know across the world.
  6. Bringing new people together and share all that I have learned in other parts of the world.

I have lived in close to 18 different countries. So, I have learned and experienced some of the challenges when arriving in a new place and country. Here are some examples:

  1. Not knowing anyone, and feeling isolated
  2. Not being able to communicate properly with anyone
  3. Having difficulties being able to ask for basic help and assistance
  4. A feeling that you don't belong to this place
  5. Not being able to read anything around you.

As you can see, there are pros and cons to moving to a new city or country. But I came to realize that all deep learning experiences come with unavoidable uncomfortable feelings and pain — pain is unavoidable — . So I have come to accept uncomfortable feelings and pain, as part of doing interesting things in life. Pain is my close friend and ally!

Adrian Avendano

Founder GlobalSouthTech. A community with the goal to connect the US and European tech ecosystems w/ Latam, Africa, MENA, China and SEA. http://bit.ly/2zab3jk